Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

How will we cope? Financially

I'm still so very worried... 

I work part time on average 15 hours a week coming home with £122 a week. I am a supply nursery nurse and have no contract.. I have only worked for the company since April 2013 on/off depending on if they have the work..

I won't be entitled to any maternity pay from this company and certainly don't think I will be entitled to any help from DWP. 

My partner is a prison officer working 40 plus hours a week and on a salary of just over 18k.. 

We aren't classed as on a low income so don't think we will be entitled to any help.. 

Does anyone know if anyone has been in this situation or know of any benefit/money I may be entitled too?

I keep feeling sick to the core because of this.

Thanks in advance. xxx

Replies

• Hi - you are definately entitled to child benefit - we get paid £81 per month roughly, and we get paid more per month than you, although some of it may be taxed back off us.

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/childbenefit/start/who-qualifies/index.htm

You can't actually apply for it until your LO is born, but they backdate it to the month of birth.

You should also get SMP (Stat maternity pay) whilst you are on mat leave - I believe this is regardless of how long you have worked at a company.

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/payerti/employee/statutory-pay/smp-overview.htm

If you aren't eligible to this for some reason, I believe you are entitled to maternity allowance from DWP instead - I'm not sure exactly how this works.

Not going to help you too much in 2014, but in 2015 there are new rules coming in which mean you can get up to 20% of your childcare costs paid for by government - again I don't believe this is dependent on your income.

I'm afraid I am not aware of anything else - might be worth calling citizen advice bureau or DWP?

Hope that helps!

• Thank you, yeah that has helped a great deal hun. Thank you so much. xxx