Forum home Getting pregnant IVF & assisted conceptions

1st IUI with injections... due to start... any tips?

Hey everyone,

you may remember me from trying to conceive, then lttc now I am here! well we are due to start SO IUI in the next few weeks (consent form signing on 19th the meds lesson on 27th) the we will have our plan and be good to go... anyone else due to start soon? 

I am speaking to some lovely ladies who are having ivf/icsi and I think the first phase of my treatment is similar, with the down reg and then stimms.

1) I was wondering if anyone knows what cycle day I would start down regging on? My next period is due on the 27th (same day as injection lesson) so I am hoping I can start with that cycle. Or will I need scans and blood work before I start?

2) Do you know how much time off work I will need? this is such a hard one... I have swapped some shifts so far (I work in retail) and that hasnt been a problem and I have used a days annual leave. My clinic is an hour away so its not a quick journey. 

3) When you are stimming are you scanned/ bloodwork every other day? if so I may take some days annual leave. 

Thanks everyone I know I should wait and ask the hospital just nice to get other peoples experiences : ) can feel quite alone if you do not have friends or family who have been through it. 

All the best for anyone 'trying' and fc for our bfp's!

xxx

Replies

• Hiya Hun, not sure if you have found ure answers else where by now, but I will explain how my IUI went....

day 1: called clinic and arranged scan for following day

day 2: 1st scan, to check lining is thin enough. (If not, you will have to go back 2 days later for another scan, or you might still be given then injections and told to wait aex extra day before commencing.)

day 3-5: depending on the lining at your first scan, you will begin the infections. From taking the injections you will have to be scanned every couple of days to make sure your not over stimming.