Forum home Babies Weaning

Please help

Hi I'm new to this. I'm at my wits end and need help. My ds was born a wk early and weighed 6lb 6oz. She's now 6 mths and only 11 and half pounds. She never seemed to be interested in milk. Formula fed. So slow gaining weight. She was put on a prescription milk (infatrini ) at 3 and half mths. She took it ok fr few weeks but now will only take 3/4 oz when sleeping. She's not very interested either in solids. She's under dietician and paeds dr. They seem to be dragging their feet. She just never seems to be hungry. She also has hip dispasia and in a spica cast. This is not a problem as she was like this before she had cast put on. Any advice appreciated. I'm so worried a bout her. Every feed is a constant n battle. This is my first baby. 

Replies

• If LO isn't eating/feeding what is she doing? Is she alert & playful or is she sleeping?  I ask because this in turn can relate to an underlying medical condition which could in turn affect the amount LO eats/drinks.

My advice would be to make an appointment with your Dr/Paediatrician & keep a diary of events until then.  Note down everything about LO however small it seems - When LO eats, what she eats, how much...when you change LO, whether wet/poo, if poo what it looks like...when LO sleeps/naps, how long is she asleep...when LO is awake what is she doing, is she sitting up, is she exploring/interested in toys, is she responding to noises around them....Take this diary of your observations with you to your appointment & discuss with Dr/Paediatrician.  It will be a long hard frustrating process but you need to be persistant, you are the one with LO 24/7 & you know her best.  Keep pushing & you will get your answers.

• She is alert, playing, smiling, giggling. One of the happiest babies I've seen. She sleeps the whole night. No problems what so ever only on the feeding. 

• Hi Cary2,