Forum home Pregnancy Miscarriage & pregnancy loss

Am I haven a miscarriage

Hi I am new to this but really need some advice as I am in limbo I am dating at 5/6 weeks on Tuesday I started to lose pink spotting then turned brown to red I went to AE they told me I was threatening a miscarriage today I had an internal scan and they told me there is an empty sac and a yoke in the right place but no baby yet I am still bleeding I have just been told I need to wait and see if anything happens or comes away I have got another scan in a week and just can't stop thinking about it now I would just like to no has anyone els had this with a good outcome as I have read so much and just don't no what to think any thoughts would helpful at the min as I am going out of my mind at the mo thanks xx

Replies

• Hi,

Didn't want to read and run. There are loads and loads of happy outcomes from stories like this on various boards on here. You could be nearer the 5 week mark, in which case it's really early to see a heartbeat.

In my case I had a completely empty sac at what I thought was 7/8 weeks (sac size was 6 weeks). So the fact you have a yolk is a big positive.

Try not to stress, easier said than done I know.

If it is a negative outcome, I promise you there is light at the end of the tunnel. I am only 3 weeks post-miscarriage and we've just begun trying to conceive again. Admittedly this isn't for everyone, but it's part of how we've dealt with it.

But as I said, try not to stress and stay positive. I'm sure that yolk will have grown a heartbeat by your next scan x

• As Peeweesmum says it could simply be you weren't far enough along at the 1st scan (at lot of the time before 8wks all you see is a small dot).  Did they check your hormone levels too (this can also be a clear indicator whether things are progressing or not)?