Forum home› Archived Birth Clubs› My baby is due in June 2014
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Recovering from vaginal birth

Hi As you know I'm hoping to have a vbac but I wondered what the recovery is like and if you ladies have any tips? I've read about inflatable rings for stitches and pouring warm water as you pee but I don't really know what to expect. I've bought post partum bath salts with arnica but not sure what else to prepare. I saw the post about after pains in the other thread. Last time my womb contracting was very painful but I had a c section so no wonder. I remember crying whilst feeding but because I breastfeed it did go. Also I have no experience of delivering the placenta so is there anything I should worry about?

Replies

• Hi

Not long to go now! image

I gave birth to my little girl last month. Was a vaginal birth and had to use emergency forceps.

The doctor had to do several cuts as well down there. My stitching ended up opening by the end of the first week and was very very painful. All i wanted to do was cry. Couldn't walk or sit on my bum. Only way to sit was on my side. They couldn't re stitch either because of infection happening. Got told it can take 6 MONTHS for it to heal which was more upsetting but I've had a look since and its actually doing really well and i can sit and move about fine image

To prevent any of this happening to you just rest loads and make sure you wash down there every day to keep clean (if you end up needing stitches) the only way for me to pee was in the shower with the water running down me as it killed so much on the toilet. Keeping the area clean will help prevent infections.

Buy lavender oil as well image for in the bath and sprinkle a few drops on your pads. I never brought a ring to sit on as midwife said it puts a lot of pressure on what stitches i had left.