Forum home Babies Baby
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Refreezing fish once cooked

Hi

I bought some fish the other day that had to be used by today. I have not had chance to use it yet so I have just put it in the freezer.

Once I have defrosted it, cooked it and used it in a receipe can it be refrozen again?

Replies

• i wouldn't hesitate in doing so. Just dispose if it is slimey or really smelly when you defrost and make sure it is piping hot when you reheat from frozen xx
  • hi ya i brought some fish a few weeks back and froze it straight away and then made a fish pie and have re-frozen it again and i did it with macey too and she way fine so i would say yes xx
  • Thanks - its all so confusing!!!
  • dont want to burst your bubble but im an environmental health officer and you must never re freeze something that has already been frozen, too many opportunities as the food cools, freezes and reheats for bacteria to grow, also you must never reheat something twice

would hate anyone to get sick esp as i dont know if you have babies or are pregnant, im ttc but noticed your post on the main page xx
  • hmmmm, i understand that is the correct thing to do, however i do it all the time....... and i've never been ill. Surely it's down to common sense! I would never be able to make anything for the freezer if i couldn't refreeze.
    All the same, it's good to know the official stance and i guess we should just be careful.......
    I also make up bottles of milk and store them in the fridge........
    But thanks chic, i didn't realise you weren't suposed to and will be extra careful in future image
  • see thats what confuses me.

I know I couldn't defrost the fish and then refreeze it again but I thought once it had been cooked the properties had changed hence why it could be refrozen!?!

Confused .com!