Forum home General Chat General chat

taras temperature is going mad

hi all,

yesterday was a pretty pants day for my poor little girlie. she was in with us the night before last and i noticed her temp seemed a little high, so when we got up yest i took her temp and it was 38.4. we gave her some nurofen, then i went to work (thankully it was ant looking after the girls). well, i got a call at about 12.15 from at saying taras temp had shot up to 40.5 and she was not very responsive and her soles of feet were cold. i panicked and bloody sods law, there wasnt enough staff to cover me at work. if i worked in a shop, id walk out, but as i work in a nursery, i couldnt do it. thankfully i was finished at 1 anyway, so in the meantime, ant rang the docs and was told they couldnt release the appts until after 1, and that all the docs were out on home visits. (all of them??).

anyway, ant picked me up at 1 and we went straight to the docs, to be told the same thing yet again, couldnt believe it, so we asked what we were meant to do. the receptionist said that if we thought she really wsa poorly we should go to the hosp. well duh!! no of course she wasnt poorly, why the heck would we be there??!! ggrr sorry, ranting now

anyway, we went to the hospital and were seen immediately. they were excellent there and did a thorough check on tara. they didnt make us feel like overreacting parents. they gave her more nurofen and asked us to wait for about 1/2 hour to see if it was working. thankfully it did. they said it was obviously the start of something but as there were no more symptoms, to just head home and keep a close eye on her. if she showed any more symptoms, to by pass the docs and take her straight to them.

so far, shes shoed no other signs thank goodness, but her temps been up and down all day, and she just seems, dozy and tired.