Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

bumpers

i have seen the SIDS guidelines for cots, but what are the views on cribs ?

the kate crib has sides effectively like a bumper, so im thinking its alright to use a bumper on a wooden bar crib ?

what are your views, and what have you/are you doing?

Replies

• No bumpers on the crib for me, and I didn't go for the Katie crib even though I really liked the look of it because of the fabric sides, apparently it's not good for air circulation, and co2 is heavier so will sit in the crib. Just what I read online though, I'm no expert.

I've bought the Airwrap bumpers for the cot, the mesh ones.

• Lots of places sell bumpers despite being against guideline so I'd imagine same goes for cribs. Also baby can't generally move around the crib anyway so they aren't likely to bang into the edge. We've never had a bumper even on cot, if you really want one get an airwrap one.
  • We've got an air wrap one for the cot, and out crib has mesh sides anyway, I wouldn't get a regular padded one.

• We've got a cot and a crib and aren't planning to use bumpers on either. If the baby had a habit of getting limbs stuck in the bars we'd definitely use an airwrap over a regular bumper.

• We'll not be having bumpers. They look lovely in the showrooms though :)

• I bought a bumper as part of a pack, but then I read the guidance plus it doesn't fit right in my cot so it's in the cupboard. I have put bunting on the outside of the cot for decoration as she won't be in it for the first few months (and got given it as a present) but will move it before she goes into the cot.

Having said I have been surprised at all the guidance. I bought a Fisher Price mobile and it says to discontinue use of the dangly bits once the baby is 4 months old to avoid strangulation but the string bits are literally an inch long.