Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

C section and not being able to breast feed

Ok so its a bit of a long one

After my appointment yesterday I want to try and be as prepared as I can for worst case scenario! So I've been told if I have to have a C section I have to be asleep,cannot have skin on skin, hubby cannot be in theatre with me and I am not allowed to breast feed for at least 24 hours because of the GA

So what do I need

I've got some formula, and I have loads of bottle but they obviously wont be sterile?

Can I express colostrum before I go into Labour and freeze it? I really have no idea, I really want to be able to breastfeed the baby as soon as I can and do not know what to do to prepare?

My milk after the section will obviously have the GA in it so I imagine I can't use thatif anyone has any advice I would appreciate it
Thank you

Replies

• I'm not an expert but I'm sure that pumping before the baby is born can make you go into labour? I would guess you'd need to ask the cons if it would be ok to do this, and at what stage it would be safe (certainly not yet!!).

• OB I'm sure that's not true, you can breastfeed right through pregnancy (I am) and it won't make you go into labour so I don't see why pumping would. Some people do think that nipple stimulation can help bring on labour but that's only if labour is imminent anyway (much like eating pineapple or going for a long walk).

NLH in your shoes I would contact your local La Leche League for the best advice.

• NLH, not suee if you saw my post on tri thread today but I think if you are leaking you'll be able to collect and freeze your colostrum. I'd advise seeing a bf counsellor for advice before the birth to help you feel more prepared too.

There are people on here though who bfed after having a GA section, cherry pie maybe?