Forum home General Chat General chat

Really bad day

Am now 34 weeks pg and had been intending working for another three weeks, but went in today and my bump was in agony all day.. I work as a junior doctor in my local hospital and it involves lots of standing and walking around, and I had been coping quite well, but for some reason after a weekend of rest, today was horrible.. image

i think i may have to go on maternity leave early, but just know it's going to be a nightmare with medical staffing and payroll sorting out my maternity pay.. and i had wanted to spend as much time with the baby as possible as am only taking 6 months off..

to make things worse i have a horrible cough and everytime i cough it makes me want to cry with pain.. and i feel quite feverish image feeling very sorry for myself!! sorry to moan at all of you, hope you all had a better day than me!

what do you guys think i should do?

Replies

• Oh Lucy that sounds horrible.  Can you phone your midwife for advice?

I know what you mean about having time off after the baby's born, but you won't do either of you any favours by working when you should be resting.

You're not working those silly long shifts are you?  Do you have much of a break before you're next due in?

Cat

x

• hi hun

sorry u feel so rubbish i think u should start ur leave early. ur health and baby is more important i've learnt that. my last pregnancy i worked till 36 weeks and i felt so tired and ill by the end of it, thats why i finshed at 32weeks this time. my job involved alot of standing and walking around too and i swelled up something rotton coz i was on my feet all day (not fun i tell u!) if ur bump is sore it maybe a sign that u need a rest epsecialy since ur already ill with that horrible cough u've got. could u not go off sick for a week just 2get ur strength back and then try 2carry on?