Forum home Babies Breast & bottle feeding

periods and breast feeding?

i was wondering if anyone knows if it is normal not to have periods while breastfeeding as i have been feeding my son for 18 months and have not had a period, i only really feed him at night now and am a little worried, i know its silly but i hate talking to doctors about it, as after to quite horrific labours im scared stiff of having to be poked and proded again after finally feeling like i got a bit of my dignity back.  please help xxx

Replies

• hi molly

i've heard of that happening before and it happened to me but i only breastfed for a short while so dont know if it happens for the amount of time its happened to you hunny.

docs need full permission from you before they poke and prod you so if they need to examine you and you dont feel comfortable just say no

why not try and have a chat about it to your health visitor they should be able to point you in the right direction image

sorry i couldnt be of more help

take care xxxx

• Hi,Molly.

I  only breastfed my babies for 8 months at the longest,but I didn't get a period during the time I was probably because of the mini pill I was taking a the time,which you take without a break..They took a couple of months after I finished feeding to return.It's varied with each baby.It may just take a little longer for your periods to return.

Zoe's right,your doctor needs your permission before they poke and prod you,so if you don't want to tell them.Also if you do have those kinds of examination you can get a female nurse to come with you as a chaperone,(we have two practice nurses at our surgery)or a friend,if anything just to hold your hand,or talk to just so you're not completely focused on what they're doing.

Sorry can't  help,but I hope you can get the help you need without the awkward examinations,or it sorts itself out before then