Forum home Family life & relationships Health & fitness

Anyone suffered with hypothyroidism?

Hi ladies, I'm new to this so please bare with me! I'm called Lauren and I'm 25 from the north east of England. I have an almost 3 year old son called louie :)

Basically, the last 2 weeks I've not felt well.......not felt myself in other words. I had a randomly stiff neck appear from nowhere (hadn't slept funny although firstly thought I might have done), I'm tired all the time anyway but that's normal for me. I was also having weird sensations in my neck which seem to have subsided a bit, I've never had anything seriously wrong with me other than anxiety as something traumatic happened last year, I won't go into detail but basically my boyfriend had a mental breakdown and cut his wrists in front of me, few days before this he phoned me to say goodbye and that he was goino to kill himself :(

So as time has gone on my anxiety has gotten worse and worse. I worry about every little thing and it's got the point where I'll have a cold but I think I'm dying......I get a headache I'm worried I've got cancer...it's beyond a joke!

With the stiff neck and my weight gain (gained 2 stone in a year and a half) I'm worried I may have something wrong with my thyroid? Im seeing the doctor this afternoon but thought I'd post in here first to see if any other mums had suffered with something similar as I feel like I'm so alone, nobody understands what it's like to worry constantly and most of the time over nothing. 

I need to be strong, happy and healthy for my little boy, he's my world and I know he deserves the best!

*Sorry for the long post!!*

Thanks for reading.

Lauren xxx

Replies

• Hi there. I've got an under active thyroid. Just a blood test confirmed this for me. My main symptoms were extreme tiredness and rapid weight gain. 

How did you get on at the doctors?