Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive

Newly TTC

hi all

my partner and i have begun ttc this month, so I am completely new to the whole world of OPK's

ive downloaded numerous apps to try and predict my O day, all of which have said it was Tuesday or wednesday this week. The OPK tests have been getting darker as the week has gone on, but have never been a true positive. Today I've had what i believe to be ovulation pain, but even today the test line still isn't as dark as the control line. Can a lighter line still be a positive result? 

Thank you for any tips or guidance round this :) xxx

Replies

• Hi, yes, I think so! but is be careful  you've only just started using your app as it takes a few months of entering data everyday for them to get more accurate. I'd continue to OPK each day, if your getting darker then you may still not have o'd. I've been tracking a while trying to pinpoint my O ready for trying. It's only in the last two months I've actually had a real true positive result where the test line was darker, and thats because I tested twice to 3 times a day when I was at my peak time. I tend to get stronger results in the evening rather than early morning myself. Just because you haven't had a really dark line doesnt mean you havent or arnt about to O. Don't forget sperm can live up to 5 days inside you, so I'd just get busy and hope for the best!! X

• Thank you ☺️ I've added the last 6 months worth of periods and symptoms to the app as have been making a note of them on my calendar anyway, my periods used to be really irregular so I've always tracked quite obsessively 

• You should have plenty of data then and it should be relatively accurate. My cycles are a bit irregular but only in the sense of varrying between 32 and 36 days! The people who gave these 28 day on the dot cycles amaze me! just shows how we are all so different! I got cheap opk's off ebay, that way I can use as many as I want and dont worry about the cost. X