Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive

The mini pill

Hi ladies I'm fairly new to all this as this is the first baby I'm trying for. over the years I have had many problems with the pill. I started the combined pill when I was 15 and was on that for 4 years. I then decided to go on the mini pill because I was having awful periods so the mini pill would stop them. I have been on the mini Pill since Feb this year. I stopped taking my mini pill half way through the pack as we decided to try. I have read to wait until I have a period which we are doing but I'm not using any coneception now. Is it possible to get pregnant without having a period first? I know it makes it harder to find out when your due date is etc but it's been 3 weeks now and I still haven't had a withdrawal bleed or a period. I have read that normal periods return within 2-4 weeks so I'm bang in the middle. I have done a test and negative. I was wondering if anyone has any stories about coming off the mini pill and when they conceived Or anything that would help speed the process along! Thanks ladies x

Replies

• Hi Georgina,

I'm very much in the same position, I stopped taking Cerelle 4 weeks ago and had no withdrawal bleed and I have no sign of a period. I have very limited knowledge about all this ovulation stuff because I didnt have any periods on the pill so Its been around 7 years since I knew what my cycle was! So I can't answer your question about getting pregnant without having a period although I would guess you could ovulate and catch before it became a period. 

I have had every pregnancy symptom going since coming off the pill, currently struggling with heavy boobs and very sore nipples and have done for almost a week now. I have done a test but came up negative, I will test again later this week just to be sure.