Forum home Pregnancy Labour & birth

C-SECTION OPINIONS PLEASE?

As I'm very small built and my hips are not wide whatsoever I'm thinking about asking my midwife about having a C-section. I think this would be the safest option for me and my baby when the time comes. If any has had one or is thinking of having one I would like some opinions please??

Replies

• Hey, speak to your midwife. They will be able to advise you of whats best to do.. I cant really advise I'm sorry but I didnt want to read and run.. Your midwife may get a consultant to see you.. Let us know how it goes x

• Yeah will deffo have to speak to a consultant but I think it's gunna be the best option for me and my baby! Will let you know x

• Hi, when are you due? Can I ask why you feel a c section is the best option? As a nurse I'd be confident in saying your midwife would have had this conversation with you if they felt this was the case.

Surgery is risky both during and after. There is the initial operation, anaesthetic etc. You have post surgical wound care, unable to drive or do any heavy lifting for minimum 6 weeks. You need to have daily injections to prevent blood clots. It's a much longer recovery period in general. My friend had a planned section due to health complications and really struggled those first few weeks.

I'm not judging at all I just think it's easy to get in a panic before labour. Our bodies are an amazing thing and cope tremendously well. Antenatal teams are very experienced at end if they felt at the time either you or baby were at risk they would intervene immediately. You maybe just need more support from your midwife team. 

Defo ask to be referred to a consultant as they are the ones who ultimately will make the decision based on your overall health history etc. They will listen to all your concerns and put your mind at ease either way.