Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Glucose tolerance test

Hi I am 30 weeks pregnant and last week had my gtt. It was fine, no issues. (I had this because of my age, bmi and I have too much amniotic fluid around the baby). I then today spoke to my consultant who said I should have another gtt although the one 1 week ago was fine. Has anyone else heard of being made to have another after the first was negative for gestational diabetes? I hate needles and refused it but am having second thoughts because it's obviously better to be safe than sorry. But what's the point of having 2 plus all the extra scans they are throwing in too! Advice please!

Replies

• Unless your results were borderline I wouldn't see a reason to repeat it? Is baby measuring larger than dates? I'm a nurse and I know only too well what it's like to be needle phobic  (I am such a wuss and faint practically every time! I can use them on others just not have them used on me! Which is bizarre) And to deal with people needle phobic. Hopefully you don't need it and it's just a misunderstanding. Be interesting to hear if others have had 2 though. X

• Not borderline, baby is measuring average on the scale chart thingy they use. When I had my extra scan 2 weeks ago they said baby is perfect size, but his belly was on the very slightly big side, and that I had excess fluid. I then had the gtt last week and it was all good. But this consultant seemed to be sending everyone for and extra scan, even the radiology dept were getting a bit annoyed and they could t fit me in so I am having to have it at a different hospital. She measured my belly today and it is showing 32 instead of 30 but I have excess fluid so of course I am bigger! Don't know what she is thinking about and I don't want more needles than I need!