Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

Flu jab: are you having it or not?

Hello. 

During pregnancy, the NHS actively recommend women having the flu vaccine, as catching the flu can be very serious for people with lowered immune systems, and the vaccine can hopefully avoid potential complications. 

We wanted to ask you, if you’re pregnant (or while you were pregnant) will you be having the flu jab? 

Please do tell us by posting a reply to this thread. We’d love to hear from you. 

Replies

• I am a nurse who works for the NHS and we get given our flu jab every year (if we want it). I had the flu once and it’s the worst experience ever. So I have had it since including during my pregnancies. 

• Yep I had it early on this pregnancy and when I was pregnant last time. My immune system is pathetic when I’m pregnant! I catch everything! (Especially with a son in nursery!) so I’m glad I could avoid catching at least one other thing! 

• I have it anyway with being Asthmatic.  I still had it with both of my pregnancies :-)

• I had it before I caught pregnant but defo would have it after seeing a women critically Ill with flu in intensive care while pregnant..