Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

First Trimester Cramping

Hi everyone! 

Im a newbie to all of this. I’m pregnant! 6 weeks according to NHS. I’m excited and anxious at the same time. I’m 31! I’ve been experiencing a lot of period like cramping. I’ve heard it’s normal. However I’m wondering how long it lasts for? Before pregnancy I just thought you had morning sickness, grew really big and went through labour! I didn’t know about the cramping! my mum said she never experienced it which makes me nervous. Any similar experiences? 

Replies

• Hello :) I am also in the 6th week currently and I was experiencing lots of cramps since I got pregnant, some of them mild some of them stronger (they also get worse with sneezing/coughing) I am pregnant for the first time so  I was not thinking you will get cramps in pregnancy but obviously you doo :) in our November 18 group here we have multiple women experiencing cramps in pregnancy and I heard from friends that were preggo it is normal, however, how long it last for its very personal.. for me I had it for 2 weeks almost constantly and now it faded, but I still have them sometimes.. for others they are still on.. if you are not in a lot of pain and cramps are not accompanied by bleeding it should be fine :) 

• Thanks Everness. With me being 6 weeks it’s hard to talk to anyone about it. I’m trying to keep it under wraps until I get a scan at 12 weeks. Thank goodness for these chat rooms! Do you think id be able to join the November group? X

• http://www.madeformums.com/forum/birth-clubs/due-in-november-2018/339384.html?postId=2129672 this is the link :) there is bunch of us :) I am also keeping it under wraps until 12 weeks approximately. only few close friends know as they knew we were trying, and my supervisor as I need to have risk assessment done in the laboratory but family will get to know later on :) but although it will be a big surprise for them as they are defo not expecting it I am soo excited to tell them