Forum home Babies Postnatal depression

Moved to the countryside with 2 under 2 and PND

Hello everyone,

It's my first time on here today. I feel like posting on here may make me feel less lonely/a bit better than what I do right now.

I have not been to the doctors about my depression as I think I have been in denial for a long time that I am ok...I have just realised I am not :(

In January my young family moved from the city to a rural village in the countryside. We made this move as we were private renting beforehand and the cost of living was so expensive even with us both working. The opportunity arrived where we could rent a council property in the country, for cheaper and it has gave us a stepping stone to save a deposit and buy the house.

The house is amazing, it has everything you could wish for for your children, in a lovely respectable environment. 

It did however meaning to change our daughters school, she is 6 years old, she has happily settled and I am so proud of how she took to the transition.

However, as selfish as it seems. I am not happy. I cry every single day and I feel so so lonely.

I have 2 boys under 2 so they do keep me busy and i love my children so much but everyday I feel like it's a constant battle in my head. I feel like it's hard raising these little children all by myself in a place I do not know anyone nor can I get to know anyone.

I haven't got a car and there is nothing to do in my village. I solely rely on my partner to be transported around. He works long hours in management up and down the country and I never ever get another family member to offer to help me or visit me.

I just feel so guilty for feeling this way. I really want to embrace living here but I feel like I have given up so much of my life moving here as well as raising my children, who are at a very demanding age.