Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

Giving up smoking!

Hello everyone!

I am very new to this, just signed up, hope you are all okay! We have just found out that we are expecting our second baby, I'm around 6 weeks pregnant now.

I was wondering if anyone has any good tips for giving up smoking!! I have cut right down but can't seem to completely stop this time.

I already have an appointment with the practice nurse to get help but that's not for a couple of weeks.

Any ideas?xx

Replies

• Hi Faith

I quit from about 20/day about 3 years ago and you've got my full sympathy - it's really hard. The NRTs really worked for me - especially the ones orally administered, so lozenges or inhalators. Apparently nicotine on it's own, while not being great, is much less harmful to baby than cig smoke, but I found the NRT only worked when I was taking plenty of it - so much that I really didn't think about cigs cos I had all the usual nicotine.

I'm afraid the only way to cut out the last one or two is iron discipline! Don't buy them and don't let any of your friends or family come NEAR you if they're smoking or even have a pack on them! I couldn't give up completely until my OH quit too... if they were in his pocket, I was gonna smoke at least one!

Good luck - this is the best excuse you'll ever get to quit (apart from a cancer scare, which is what did it for me!) Fingers crossed babe
  • Hi weeza,

Thanks for that, my partner still smokes so I will have to get him to quit too, I know that will help so I hope he will!

I will ask what nrt I can use at my appointment, I'm not sure what she will say though as my doctor didn't think I could use any!!

At the end of the day I am doing it for the baby this time, so there are no excuses.

Thanks again,
    Faith.:\)xx