Forum home Babies Baby

What should I buy?

I wonder if anyone could help. I want to go out and buy some baby clothes but as a first time mum what should I buy so I have a variety of things when baby arrives? What sizes should I get? Sorry to be thick but it's my first time!!! :\)

Replies

• Ive found that to start off with babies stay in a vest with a babygro over the top. It is nice to buy all the other outfits but you'll find that a lot of ppl will give these as presents and its the essentials you're left without. I would get some newborn size and some 0-3 month size but not too many cos they grow so quick. If you do want to buy proper outfits then get a bigger size but bear the weather in mind.
    I always make a point of buying a nice outfit for the hospital so he/she can come home looking cute!!
  • hi you not being thick!!!! im a first time mum and i havent got a clue either!! i was stood in mothercare thinking do i buy new baby,tiny baby or 0-3 months? so i didnt buy any!! i have had a lot of stuff given me from a cousin and its a good job cos its an expensive do!! i have been given the advise that you can never have enoughbaby grows or jump suits as people tend to buy cute clothes for baby that he/she prob wont wear much!!! so get a few of each size as they not too expensive. my friends are putting togther a basket full of essentials such as cotton wool lotion etc which will be very useful! and me and my partner buy the odd thing when we go shopping just to top it up. enjoy buying stuff i am i waited until i was nearly 6 months gone as i was paranoid somat was going wrong!! now i love buying stuff!!!!!!!!!!! hope this helps hun xx
  • Do you know what you are having? or will you be buying white? When are you due?
    You will need- vests. baby grows, for sleeping in I would say get at LEAST 7 of each as you will get through them with leaky nappies and sicky baby!!!