Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

Can you monitor fertility while still on pill??

Ok so Im new to this whole thing!

We have decided to start trying for a baby (yay!) in Jan (no earlier as we dont want to baby to come any earlier than September).

I am on Microgynon at the moment and have been for about 4 years. I was planning to come off the pill at the start of Jan, but have since read up a bit about how long it takes to get it 'out of your system' and am now thinking I may need to stop now (on period at mo, so wouldn't go back on).

Obviously I dont want our sex life to die a death between now and Christmas! So I was wondering whether it was possible to monitor your fertility/mucus consistency while still on the pill, or whether I would def have to come off?

I have 3 days before Im due to go back on the pill, so if anyone can help soon, would be greatly appreciated!!!

(P.S - does the word mucus gross anyone else out?! Only just started using these terms and still getting used to using such words with hubby who is equally grossed out!!)

[Modified by: Cup Cake on 05 November 2008 11:49:59 ]

Replies

• This is just my opinion but I would stop now and not take it again and I say that because, even though we all vary, I was on Microgynon for longer than you (9yrs), and when I stopped it (Dec 07), it gave me longer cycles of 35 (instead of the norm 28), and it took me 6 months to conceive. It will do you no harm to stop and prepare for a month or 2 earlier and just use another contraception (condoms), until your ready.

Em x
    25+5
  • I would agree with the others, come off the pill now and give yourself a head-start of getting it out of your system. You might be lucky and get straight back into a natural cycle and if so no harm done other than the nuisance of using condoms for a couple of months max.