Forum home Getting pregnant IVF & assisted conceptions

3 Blastocysts awaiting genetic testing

So, I'm new to this but just wanted to share my story and see if anyone else out there is going through or has been through the same/similar scenario as me.

I was tested BRCA2 positive and we decided to go forward with PGD at Guys & St Thomas hospital in London. I was on Gonal F daily and then introduced fyremadel daily. When it was time to do my trigger shot I used Buserelin.

I had 12 eggs collected on February 12th and on Saturday 13th 7 had been fertilised.
3 embryos have made it to blastocysts therefore these are being sent for genetic testing (BRCA2). Really hoping for good results but I know it's completely out of my control and we just have to hope for the best! 

I'm interested in hearing anyone else's experience and wondered how many blastocysts you had and how many of them came back normal after being tested for the mutated BRCA2 gene?

Fully aware everyone is different and I can't expect the same results but really intrigued how others have come on on their journey 😊

Linzi xx

Replies

• Hya x I've just started my injections for IVF icsi but we are also having the PGT as we had a  down syndrome pregnancy so wud love to hear how yours goes. Om only on injections day 3 xxx
  • Hi, 
    I’m about 2 weeks behind you, going through IVF PGD at Guy’s. My hubby has the BRCA1 gene. I had the same injections as you, except we had to do a double trigger (irregular periods). 
    How scary is it waiting for that call?! 
    We had the collection 8 days ago and Had the call 2 days ago to say we have a good amount being genetically tested. 
    However, I now have OHSS & am quite poorly, and been put on dalteparin injections (reduce risk of blood clotting). 
    It’s so nice to hear other people’s stories, and knowing my worries are normal 🤣.