Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

Silly Q??? but new to this and bit confussed ;-)

Hi ladies sorry if this is silly but i'm new to this as this is baby no 1 and i'm now 12wks + 2 days, first scan went well..... When do I start buying things like cot/bedding/moses baskets etc etc????? Is there a superstition about a certain time? Although I'm superstitious normally - cant help thinking that mother nature is in charge here and will she really 'curse' me for being organised and too soon??? I'm a bit OCD ish about organisation and also want to do things in bits to help the money aspect along. I'm just thinking Due in march - maybe few bits each month speads cost out.
Any advice gratefully received
Thanks in advance
Sarah
xxx

Replies

• Its up to you hun I bought my pram when i was 5 weeks pg!! Got my moses basket and car seat when I was 17 weeks ish. Just thought that by buying bits each month it wouldnt feel as expensive!! Also I'm a bit OCDish as well lol!!
  • Hi, I was superstitious (sp?) before pregnancy. Now like you I feel that if mother nature has that in store for us then there is nothing I can do to change it. I do have a few doubts in my mind sometimes, like having the pushchair in the house before my 20 week scan (next week) but then reality hits me and tells me to stop being daft.

Dh and I have set a budget each month of how much we should realistically spend and have a list of things we need and where we would get them from how much they were etc etc etc (I really like lists :lol: ). I would say just dont go mad buying things, but if you see things that you like and you think you would use them/want them then whats the harm?

If you feel easier, is there someone else that can store these things for you? My mum wanted to look after our bits and bobs but we wanted to keep looking at them so we said no :\)

HTH x