Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

is it ever the right time?

Hi everyone,

This is my first post and I just need some advice really......is there ever a right time to start ttc?

I'm 22, we've been married for 7 months,together for over 5 years. We have our own house and are settled. OH has a good job, but i'm a student.
I'm only 2 months into a 3 year course (i've already done the first year before at a diff uni so its abit repetitive at the mo) If i fell pregnant i would get 45 weeks of my bursary so that isn't a problem. If i went on maternity leave i would be able to resume my course where i left.

Its just, were not rolling in money, we have credit cards that need paying and there's always something that needs doing with the house etc. But we get by, and there's always enough spare for the yearly holiday and odd treats.

I'm so broody, it hurts!

Is there ever a right time to have a baby?
Do you just have to make sacrifices when the time comes and get on with it?

Replies

• I think we can be too sensible these days!! I'm 35 and on my first but only cos I didn think I wanted to have any until my hormones caught up with me, and I think we are very lucky financially cos we are a bit older. But I look at my mum who had 4 by the time she was 28, no money and still got by! It's the scariest thing in the world deciding its the right time but it depends on what you think is important, and if that is having a baby rather than a nice holiday, then thats your choice. Yes, I think it means sacrifices but I think you would get by.
  • Hi there, don't think there is ever a right time. Like you said things just keep popping up. I know we started trying at the start of the year then stopped as OH lost his job. Think we all just have a way of coping what ever life throws at us! Hope this helps!
    Tx
  • Personally, it is up to you babe!