Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

question for teachers and maternity leave

Hi,

I'm a teacher in a secondary school and also a head of department.

I am also the main earner in our house (by quite a bit) and we need my income. I desperately want to spend time with baby and so am considering going back 4 days a week. However, this is only financially viable if I can keep my head of department position.

Just wondering if anyone else has done this/planning to do this and was able to keep their position?

I know I need to ask the head but just thought I'd see if anyone else had a similar experience.

Many thanks

Kernow

Replies

• I am in a very similar position, except I've decided to go back 5 days after all.

My option was to job share with somebody else, so that I am manager the days I was in, and the other person is manager the days I was not. But I was looking at a 0.5 position - I'm not sure how it would work with a 0.8. Speak to your HR people.
  • I am also considering something similar, I am assistant head and looking to go back 4 days a week. I haven't talked about this with my Head and probably won't till I am actually off on maternity leave. As far as I know if you put in a request to go part time/drop hours they have to consider it and with laws for flexible working for parents, have to come up with a pretty good reason why not.
    That is my understanding. Be good to hear from others who have done this.

xxx