Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

Bristol area ladies..help needed!

I posted this on the Baby forum 2 days ago but didn't get any replies.
I am hoping one of you lovely ladies might be able to help!
I have my booking in apt with the MW next wk and I know she will ask me which hospital I want to use, Southmead or St. Michaels. I am not from Bristol originally, but had to use Southmead when I had a MMC last yr and had an ERPC there.
I was tempted to go for St.Michaels because of the memories at Southmead but was wondering if anyone had any thoughts/advice? I hear St. Michaels have recently opended a new maternity bit, has anyone been there?
Any advice would be great! Thanks,
Lilou x

Replies

• Hi Lilou, sorry to hear of your mmc. I have no knowledge of St Michaels although if i end up needing a c section or emergency that is where i will end up. I did however have my daughter at Southmead and really did not have the experience i was expecting after having a tour. The delivery staff i found horrible, well the midwife i had was not nice. Not very good care, i wasn't even offered a drink, during labour, or anything after. I left 6 hrs after having my daughter. Unfortunately i had to return 3 days later because my daughter developed jaundice, got to say the m/w on the maternity ward were brilliant. Probably not much help but after my experience at southmead id choose st michaels.
    good luck
    trace x
    19+6
  • Thanks Trace. That is really helpful. I have to say I found the staff at Southmead both at the EPU and the ward/theatre not very suportive or empathetic so was worried about going back.