Forum home Toddlers & older children Children with special needs

New to this!!

Hi, i'm new to this and am hoping to meet other parents with children with special needs. My son, Beck is 2 1/2 and has cerebral palsy, most definately the most beautiful boy on this planet, I might be slightly biased though, lol!!!!.

We are nervously trying for another!! Any advice??

Sam xx

Replies

• hi sam.. welcome to the board! I'm mum to daniel who has spastic cp affecting his right side. he's 18 months old. I'm also 28 weeks pregnant with no.2!! lol

I did always want more than 1 child so in a way didn't want the cp to change that and let it 'win' and control our families future. I'm a bit stubborn like that! lol :\)

His paed said that it helps to have siblings as it they always have people of simliar age that accept them as they are , that also they will copy their behaviour which willl push them to try and function in a 'normal' way (ie. will push them to walk more etc). It will also shift the 100% attention that the child had got to sharing the limelight with someone else. (I know what I'm like sometime and over fuss daniel before realising it and stopping myself)

I did decide to wait til daniel was 1 before trying for no. 2 and got pregnant straight away again. In a way i'm glad as if I had to think about it too much I would've changed my mind! lol I'll be honest and say I've worried from the beginning of this pregnancy and will do til the end... & I've not enjoyed so far. But it does depend on how your son got his cp.. daniel had a stroke whilst I was pregnant so I'm on pins that will happen again even though the dr's have said it's very highly unlikely, they can't say for sure it won't. I have been given an extra scan (although I did have to ask for this they were very happy to give me one) which I will have next week at 29 weeks to check baby. :\)