Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

baby movements

hi all, iv been on here a couple of months but not done any talking but now i have started to worry, and you all seem very helpful, i was just wondering what everyone thought about the baby movements and should they move 10x a day everyday, because i saw m/w monday and she said it should move 10x a day and if it dont i should get straight in touch with hospital well it certainly doesnt move 10x day everyday it did tuesday and wednesday but now for instance it has only moved 6 so far does this have anything to do with getting up at different times? and as for pattern what does that mean because im not sure my baby even has one. really starting to worry now because it is my first time. also people have told me i should be seen every week now as i am 36+5 well i am not being seen until next friday. please give me your views.

Replies

• I think everybody is told that baby should move 10 times plus a day,but as its getting to be quite a good size there wont be much room for baby to move about in.ice cubes always wakes mine up so if Ithink I havent felt him move for a while I have a glass of ice cubes.
    as for a pattern they say that if you kept a chart and marked the times every day baby moved you would probably find it will move at nearly the same time everyday.they also say that its a good indecator for when baby is born because they normaly keep the same pattern.so you would have abit of an idea of what times it might be more active.
  • thank you for replyin, just had ice cold water and its give me a kick so theres some reassurance, how far are you?
  • hiya

i am 39 weeks will my second child and still worry myself about babys movements. i sometimes find baby may not have moved very much but i think it just down to the fact the movements sometimes are not as strong and i am that busy and dont notice them so much.