Forum home Toddlers & older children Children with special needs

bit of advce please ladys

hi ive just been docs with my 13mnth old and have been told there looking out for signs of cereble palsy and i was just wondering if any of your lo have it and if so what were the early signs

Replies

• Although I don't have a child with CP I'm a teacher looking after children with CP. It is a condition that can vary greatly. Some kids aren't affected much while others can be profoundly affected. Different people notice different things first. Some signs can be not meeting their milestones as far as motor development (sitting, crawling, walking, eating etc). Maybe using one side of their body but not the other or using only their arms and not their legs (as different types can affect different parts of the body). Some children may have seizures, not using their eyes properly or when you pick them up their legs cross automatically.

Every child with CP is totally different. Do you mind me asking why this is a posibility?
  • dont mind you asking at all shes always been behind a bit physicly she didnt sit up until she was nearly 11mnths she doesnt really wieght bear very well and when she does her left foot is slightly twisted and her knees back rather than slightly forward she also stiffens.all the doc said was come back in 4 weeks to see how shes doing as shes looking for signs of sp and if nothings changed she will refer us.
  • Faith, all the best with your doctors appointments and keep us posted. It can't be easy when someone is saying that their might be something wrong. The important thing is to give your little girl as many opportunities to practice sitting, standing etc and to keep her mobile and active. Helping her to practice bending and stretching her limbs will also be good and should help her not to stiffen up.

Keep me posted and big hugs xxx