Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

Is my maternity package good?

Hi everyone

Just doing some information gathering (!!!) before we start trying for our first baby next month.

My maternity package is:

6 weeks at 90% of my pay
12 weeks at 50% of my pay
The rest at SMP.

Any ideas if this is good??? Clearly its the first time I've ever needed to know!

I work for the Government so fingers crossed its pretty good!

Joo xxx

Replies

• Hi Joo,

Last year I received:

Wks 1 - 4 full salary
    Wks 5 - 6 90% salary
    Wks 7 - 18 SMP + 50% salary
    Then SMP.

I'm a teacher, I think that I got a better deal than some of my friends. My lo was born in September so I had six weeks paid holiday before I started my maternity leave too, I don't think I could've planned it any better. I'm pregnant again and this one is due 3rd September but I don't think I'll last until the six weeks holiday this time.

All the best with ttc, Denise xx
  • Hi Joo
    That does seem to be a pretty good package! My company do not offer anything extra, so am on 90% for first 6 weeks & the rest SMP! Oh, tell a lie, they do give a weeks wages additional as a (taxed) gift!!
    Good luck & hope to see you on this forum soon!!
    Sarah xx
  • Hi Joo

This is exactly what i got from my company (due to start in 3 weeks) - i had to fight mind to get 12 weeks at 50% they used to give 6 but increased it after i moaned. My company are predominantly staffed by men so i was expecting it to be a little better as its not as if they pay it very often but as it stands & from what i gathered its not to bad really

Good luck you will soon be taking it x
  • That sounds pretty fair to me. I get 10wks at 100% salary then I'm on my own with smp.
    God knows how we'll cover mortgage and loan repayments etc but needless to say I'm saving like mad and hopefully the 10wks full pay I'll be able to save loads. S x
  • That sounds great