Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

What is maternity care like in differnet countries?

Having just read a post from Greek Baby, where she says that during a CSection in Greece your arms are tied down to a wooden board (!), that you are not allowed to sit on a toilet seat after so have to squat (!) and that you are not allowed to eat for 4 days after (!) I am curious to know if there are any other strange practises going on in other countires.
At my antenatal classes there was a man from South Africa who said that CSections are offered as a matter of choice to everyone, where as over here unless you have a medical condition (or are famous and going private!) you would really struggle to get one simply beacause your too posh to push.
I know there are a lot of concerns about our maternity care at the moment and am wondering if it really is as bad as we think or are we actually quite lucky??:roll:

Replies

• After reading that i think we are definately lucky. I have no experience of child birth in other countries but it would be interesting to read what happens in them.
  • My friend gave birth to her 2nd child in USA. She said the standard of care she received over there was amazing compared to the maternity care she got in UK.
    She was offerened repetative scans, with the option of 3d. Her husband stayed in hopspital with her in her private room the night before and after she gave birth in a bed that could be connected to her hospital bed.
    Admitedly as you pay medical insurance you are technically paying for this care rather than NHS. S x
  • I would love to have the option of having my husband stay with me in the room, I know you can pay for a private room in the hospital I'm at ??80 - ??120 per night depending on which room you get but Dads still have to keep to visiting times.
  • R u going private zoey? Wish my oh was able to say with me
    xxx