Forum home Pregnancy Miscarriage & pregnancy loss
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Late Miscarraige

I am new to this really so I don't know quite what to say. I have recently lost a baby at 18 weeks. I went in to see the doc for a scan because of slight bleeding, and he said the baby was fine for which was such a relief, but then he did a smear like test and he saw the membranes hanging. I won't forget him saying to me I think you are going to go into labour, it was awful. My partner works away so he couldn't get to the hospital on time, as it was over in 4 hours. I suppose looking back I am glad I went to the hospital when I did as it would of happened at home. I am devastated to say the least. I am shocked at how many others have have had a miscarraige. Incidently I had another miscarraige (missed) last year but only made it to 6 weeks which does still hurt of course. I live in a small community and there are quite a few women around that are pregnant and I do see them reguarly which hurts. I have an appointment to see the Consultant on Friday so hopefully he will explain why this happened, as this is what is the hardest bit is why?

Replies

• Hi Jakki. I also have had 2 miscarriages (one at 5/6 weeks) and one, 2 weeks ago at 12 weeks. I to am devestated, and am trying to think of why it would have happened, but they the doc tells me it is 'normal' to have miscarriages. It does seem so unfair, like you said, when others are pregnant ( 2 of my friends are and my botfriend's sister is as well, and they are all fine (which I am glad about, but it does make you feel picked on). My boyfriend and I will try ASAP for a baby, but i am still in pain from the miscarriage at the moement. I wish you luck XX bex