Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive

Im coming off the pill this month, newbie needs advice!

Hello ladies. This feels very strange, as we have decided (after getting married last month) that we are going to start ttc. I recognise some of the names on this site from YAYW, which makes this easier!
I never realised just how scary the ttc stage could be, and dont even get me started on all the abbreviations! Im a staff nurse and I realise now how confusing it must be for all out patients when we talk about their Hb, TWOC, CVVH etc! Anyway, I digress. I have started taking folic acid, and am trying to watch what I eat, because im overweight.
We are going to start by just relaxing, and not focusing too much on ovulation, temperatures etc, however, will now be looking out for the EWM!
Just wanted to say hello and see if any of you have any reassuring words of advice or support for a nervous newbie?
Thanks for reading, love Topbird xx

Replies

• Hi Topbird, I'm past the ttc stage but wanted to pass on a little bit of advice i got from my gp, she said that BDing twice a week should be enough when ttc as too much can wear out the sperm and too less can make it lazy!
    Hope this helps, and i am glad to notice your taking your folic acid too, i have a post on here for anyone ttc on the importance of it. Good luck for the future.x
  • I can't find the thread on abbreviations, whats BDing again?
    Sorry!
    Topbird xx
  • Bedroom dancing hun!
  • *hangs head in shame*
    Of course it is!
    Thank you!! Topbird x
  • hi. we are comming off the pill next month to ttc our second. we are also going to be taking it easy and try to relax and enjoy. im the same with the abbreviations having to check what things mean when im reading a thread but im sure we will get the hang of it. good luck in ttc.xx
  • Hi and welcome