Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

c-section advice needed

Hi all, I went to the hosp yesterday for my 28 week scan/check and my baby is measuring at well over 4 pounds and the size of a 34 week baby. They have told me he is going to be at least 11 pound at full term and have called me back in at 34 weeks for a growth scan and have suggested I am then given a date for a c-section at 37 weeks. I am absolutely petrified of the thought of having a c-section and have sat here crying on and off since yesterday, I really dont like the idea of stopping in hospital for days after cos I have a fear of hospitals. Can anyone who has had a c-section please tell me is the pain really bad after as Im not good with pain and also how long do u normally have to stop in, I think once I get my head round it Ill be ok so just need reassuring,
thanks sarah x

Replies

• Morphine and co-codamol sort the pain out after babe. (It helped that the drugs trolley had a squeaky wheel and I could hear it coming down the corridor!) I felt really looked after by the staff following my c-section and I may opt for another this time around too. My husband was able to stay with me as much as I wanted him to from 9am til 9pm, they weren't too tough on turfing him out when I was a little upset one evening either so that sorted out my nervousness about staying in. Come 9pm I was ready for sleep anyway.

Discuss how you feel with your midwife, she should have first hand knowledge about the hospital and talk you through what to expect. It is her job to reassure you. Like I said I may opt for another c-section this time too.
  • hi hun,