Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive

hello... here for advice 'n stuff!

Hiya... newbie here :\)

Been ttc properly since late April. AF arrived today so no joy so far, although I know it's v early days! Never realised how much i wanted this till we started trying properly tho...

Have just ordered myself a basal thermometer and thinking of trying ov sticks so any advice is welcome - obviously i'm v new to this!

Lilylolo x

Replies

• Hello, welcome to the site. Sounds like you're obsessed already, you'll fit right in!
  • lol i agree with lulabellarama,in my experience ive found the ov sticks easier than charting your temp but everyone is different,good luck

sarah
    xx
  • Welcome!

I do pretty much everything to try to work out when I ov (irregular cycles so it's a bit of a puzzle!)

I find checking my cm (cervical mucus) helps me identify when I am approaching ov, and then I can use ov sticks and BBT to confirm. When you are most fertile your cm is like egg whites - clear and stretchy. This helps the swimmers stay alive and get to their goal!

xx
  • thanx! Which ov sticks do you recommend, i've done a few google searches and there are so many plus they vary in price so much! Am i best going with a known brand, but more expensive like clearblue or boots own?

I'm lucky cycle really regular since coming off the pill about 8 months ago, always 28 days although cycle before last 27 for some reason. I will keep an eye on cm changes 2! good luck everybody x
  • Hi Lilylolo - there was a thread on BBT yesterday started by K-Lou that might help!

The upshot was: its complicated and time consuming, but some people find it helpful in combination with OPK.

Good luck ttc and welcome!
  • I get my hpk's and opk's from Ebay - via the Fertility Plan shop. Ordered 15 hpk's yesterday for ??3 incl delivery.

I determined when I ov'd with the opk's and got my bfp with the hpk's a couple of months ago so they do work (unfortunately mc'd so back to ttc)