Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive

how long is too long?

Hi everyone
I just want to rant!! This'll be a long one so apologies in advance. Some of you may know, I have just had a missed miscarriage. I went for 12 week scan on tues ( would have been 13 weeks) and it came as a huge shock that I had miscarried at 9 weeks and didn't know. So decided to go for medical management (was given tablets to start miscarriage properly) on Friday. It hasn't been nice but I have coped and physically I feel much better now even though I'm still bleeding and passing clots.

I went to the docs this morning and have been signed off. She asked me how long I wanted and I said just til 14 July as I am a teacher and want to go back in for the last week of term otherwise I'll have to wait til September before I see some people. Doc said fine and that if I needed more time, she'd sign me off for longer.

Anyway, my friend from school phoned me earlier to tell me that when my Head of Dept found out I was off for another 2 weeks, she was like "What? another 2 weeks. Oh my God!". She said this in the staff room in front of loads of other members of staff. Thing is, I have NEVER been off work before. I have been there over 5 years and am never off sick. Where the f*** does she get off???

This has been the biggest and most traumatic time of my life. Emotionally, I am all over the place and just need support. Am I unreasonable in having this time to rest and get better? Has anyone else had this? I am so angry right now.
xxx

Replies

• And you have every right to be angry. I can't help wishing your friend has kept that outrageous statement from your boss to herself.

Don't think about it. The head of dep was speaking out of turn and has no right in the world to say such a thing. You have suffered a serious loss and you need time to heal, both physically and emotionally. A time limit can't be put on things like that.