Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Periods?? updated..

Hi Ladies - I am new to this but what a great site! I'm just after a bit of advice and to see if anyone else has gone through the same...I came off the pill just after Christmas to start trying for a baby, since then I have only really had one proper period. In between I have been having what seems to be anovulation bleeding, very little brown bleeding. I was never really regular before I started on the pill 2 years ago. Just before I get these ???????periods??????? my mood swings are horrendous, I become very aggressive and snappy for no reason. I am worried I don't ovulate because I am not having proper periods, my cycle is around 40+ days. I want to go and see my GP but I am worried if he will turn me away until after 12 months of trying???:\?

Hello again - we went to the doctors on Friday and my GP was very good. He has arranged for me to have some blood tests to see if I am ovulating, have polycystic overies and a couple more tests. While my hubby is going for semen analysis to see if his sperm is normal. I'm going for my blood tests on 18th and it will take upto a week to get my results back. I couldn't sleep last night thinking what will I do if I have polycystic overies - is that it, will that make me infertile?? What are the options - IVF?? :\?

[Modified by: pont2 on 07 July 2008 11:04:38 ]

Replies

• Hello and welcome to the site!

Don't worry about your GP - just go! I had disrupted periods after taking the pill, and I only waited three months (am dreadfully impatient) before I went.... good luck.
  • Hi Pont2, you sound very similar to me!