Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive

Rang NHS Direct about my 108 day (and counting) cycle

And they said my periods should have settled down by now - 6 months off the pill. She said I should go back to the doctor so they can rule out any other causes apart from the pill just messing things up.

Not sure what to do as the doctor told me last time to wait another 4 or 5 months. I think if it gets to the end of July and still no AF then I'll go back to the doctor.

What do you think?

:\(

Replies

• just go to the docs babe, thats wat there bloody there 4, just c another doc if needed, you shouldn't feel like u cant go back, just say its making u really depressed and that you need to know for your own peace of mind xxxxxxx
  • Moomin - try another doc at your surgery and quote NHS direct at them. Your body - you are entitled to another opinion - esp if your GP is the old fashioned sort or is out of date. Not sure what they can do but then I'm not a doctor!
  • Well it is making me really depressed and i am starting to suspect something is wrong, especially since the whole reason I went on the pill in the first place was to sort out my irregular cycles. So I think you're right. That was the first time I saw that particular doctor so hopefully if i go again it might be back to my usual one!
  • Make another appointment and tell the doctor what NHS direct said and tell them that it's really getting you down. They should take your mental well being as a consideration.
  • Lentil, only problem was the GP I saw that time was the head GP of that surgery and he used to work in a fertility unit before becoming a GP so I suppose he knows what he's talking about.

But as above, it is upsetting me a lot so I think it's worth having another talk.

Also I think he meant go back in 4 or 5 months if I haven't re-established a regular cycle, but it is another month gone by already without AF even appearing (4 months in total)! It can't be right!