Forum home Babies Baby

Is it ok?

My little girls is 9 days old. She seems to sleep better on her side then back. Is it ok for her to sleep like this? Or does she have to be on her back. Sorry im new to all this, she is my first.
Roxi

Replies

• Well I don't think you have much choice tbh! :lol:
    If she doesn't want to sleep on her back, there's not much you can do to make her. As long as there's no loose blankets or sheets I'm sure she'll be fine. xxx
  • Maddy hated sleeping on her back and, in the end, I gave in and let her sleep how ever she was most comfortable. I know the guidelines for cot death say on their backs but, when I was a Lo my mum and all the other Mums were told to sleep us on our tummys! They change the recommendations every so many years.
  • im on my 3rd baby and all this put ur baby on his/her back baffs me still. J used to hate being on his bk - so i put him on his front, MW came round and had a right go at me, so, when i had isaac i tried to keep him on his bk. He used to cry and scream coz he was simply uncomfortable, but coz of that MW I stuck with it and had many, many nights of tears. Im sure its partly to do with why he is a funny sleeper to this day! So now iv had Tyler I will let him sleep whatever way he wants, which luckily seems to be on his bk. :roll:

Surely its more dangerousif they are lying on their bk and they are sick? :\? :\? :\?
  • It's so confusing isn't it!

One midwife in the hospital told me that its been proven that babies won't choke on sick if they are on their backs, so it is the safest way. However, another mw in the hospital fed Gabe and when she bought him bk she said he'd been a bit sick so she put him on his side (I had a spinal at the time so couldnt do anything).

Gabe seems to sleep really well on his back, so I'm lucky.

I would let her sleep how she is comfortable. I think sleeping on her side is safer then on her tummy, I dont see why its dangerous. xx