Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

pregnancy and work uniform

hi i wonder if you ladies can tell me of your experiences, i'm a nurse and i wear a sky blue tunic and navy trousers as do all nurses at my level. I've just been measured for my maternity uniform and been told my top will be white, as that's what coulour the maternity tops are. Students at my trust wear white, so i'm really reluctant to wear them, have any of you ladies been made to wear a differnt colour or differernt uniform just because your pregnant. I've looked at the website of the company that supply my uniforrm and they do them in blue, so it can't be because they can't get them, any advice greatfully recived
xx

Replies

• I am a dental nurse so colour isn't really important but my uniform was blue skirt and blue tunic, and i had to have white trousers and struggled to get tunic so manager had to alter mine, i looked ridiculus! but when i looked in the cataloge there were only about 2 uniforms for maternity! i would mention your concern to them because like you say the colour of your uniform is important to distinguish your position
  • i was just given larger uniforms, i wear dark blue tunic and trousers, started in a medium, was in an extra large by the end, and had to finish in my own trousers coz theirs didnt fit anymore. my only other option was a white maternity dress, looked more like a tent, but not really suitable for A&E
  • hi, i work in audiology and we have tunics too, i am not getting a new maternity uniform but there are a couple of girls on my team who are bigger then me so when i need to i am just gonna borrow a bigger size tunic from one of them. Then when i get to mammoth size, i am gonna wear scrubs in the same colour as our tunic. We all wear our own pants anyway as we dont like the ones they issue so i have just got some maternity ones from dotty perks.

i wouldnt advise being in the same colour as students though, it is confusing for the patients!

Nina 16+4 xx