Forum home Babies Baby

teeth through lip?

My daughter fell and put her teeth through her lip... anyone else had this happen... shiver was there too much scaring? Any tips... she seen the out of hour doctor who figures stitches would do more damage, but it keeps bleeding on and off. She has three holes inside her lower lip and one on the outside. I asked about salt rinses and he just said do what makes you feel comfortable, the mouth heals quick... erg, wish they'd give more advice. I'm a nurse for crying out loud but when ever something happens to my children I just think there has to be more I could do... I have given her an ice cube to hold on it wrapped in saran wrap and a paper towel. She thinks she's invincible now though, I let her eat ice cream to numb it and because I thought she wouldn't be able to chew dinner, well between the sugar buzz and the pain meds the doctor gave her she's flying... I wish she's just sit still and let me bubble wrap her :\(

Replies

• poor thing my ollie did this when young it took age for the bleed to stop but sound like you doing all right thing hope she feel better soon
    caz
  • A friend of mine had this when she was in her 20s. Its harder with a child, but she used to put a little bit of savlon on the outside til it healed, then made sure it was moisturised because it apparently helped it not scar! I don't know if its different for kids skin thought. She's 35 now and theres no scar unless she gets a really dark tan or really cold xxx