Forum home Babies Baby

Homemade birthday cake?

Why did i promise myself 10 months ago i would make Holly's birthday cakes myself? Im a terrible cook!
So, all your mrs beetons out there, do i make victoria sponge or chocolate. And how do i ice and write on it! Help!
Id love to see your pics, pretty please!
I should just go to the shops and buy a beautiful one that will prob work out cheaper than homemade! But ive told myself i will do it. And to make it worse, like i wont be busy enough, hollys birthday and party is on new years eve! argh!
Thanks in advance ladies. x

Replies

• when my eldest daughter was little i did a sponge cake in the microwave in a mixing bowl, tipped it upside down onto cake board, covered it in ready roll icing, little icing petals and love heart sweets, got a cheap barbie type doll, i pulled her legs off and stuck her on top
    1 princess cake (using the mixing bowl made a lovely gown ) xx
  • i bought a personlaised topper from ebay it was about ??5 so we just had to make the cake,just buy a mixture from asda or that it tells you everything to do on the packet

[Modified by: grudie on November 27, 2008 08:59 PM]

• you girls are genius's. Thanks
  • Hi, victoria sponge is the easiest cake ever to make. I'm hopeless at icing though. This is my recipe:
    250g butter (softened)
    250g caster sugar.
    250 self raising flour
    2 eggs
    vanilla essence...1 tsp
    sometimes a bit of milk if mixture looks a bit thick.
    Mix together well...sooo easy
    Put in 2 sandwich tins and put in the oven for about 15-20 mins on 200 degrees (watch carefully as it cooks sooo quick sometimes).
    Leave to cool and then empty out of tins, put jam on one cake, butter cream on the other (buttercream made with butter & icing sugar mixed together) and sandwich together.
    Can't help with the icing as I'm pretty useless at that! I just sprinkle with icing sugar