Forum home Babies Breast & bottle feeding

Does anyone get painful letdown?

My lo is 7 1/2 months and i still suffer from painful letdown where it makes me wince and have to put pressure on my other boob to make it more comfortable. It isnt very painful like it used to be as i have got used to it but its still pretty uncomfortable for those first few 10 seconds or so. I thought i wouldn't be experiencing this so far on?
Just wondered if anyone suffers from this too or am i odd?! xx

Replies

• It's early days for me yet (Lily is 15 days old) but I get a quite unpleasant tight, tingling feeling which I think is letdown.

Sorry, I haven't been much help as I think you were after answers from people who've been feeding for longer than me :roll:
  • hi ive been feeding for 3 months now and still get an uncomfortable feeling in my breasts when my milk lets down, its occasionally painful when my breasts are paticually full.
    Hope that helps
    Gill
    xxxx
  • Hi, mine used to be quite uncomfortable when Kyra was a few weeks old. It has settled down now and I just feel a slight squeezing sensation, which I hardly notice now. Maybe you should have a word with your HV and ask about this - it shouldn't be painful to breastfeed...it might be thrush or beginning of mastitis...? xoxox
  • hi
    amelia is 10 months nearly. At first I felt like cut glass was coming out my boobs.....ow!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now its still a bit sore and tingly but its passes in seconds.
    d xx
  • The let down is the muscles inside your boobs contracting to squeeze the milk through the ducts and out the nipple. I guess some have it worse than others!
  • Thank you for your replies, sorry i should of mentioned on my post that im feeding further on. Thank u for the advice yummy mummy image