Forum home Babies Baby

Diary products for under 6months?

Hi Girls,

I am a bit confused as I went to a weaning workshop and she said from 17 weeks onwards yoghurts are fine. Amber has petite filous sometimes as a treat and she loves them.

I have seen a few people on her advise against this until 6months yet it says 4months on the pots too? Always so much conflicting advice from hv,weaning ladies and other mummies lol!! Did you/Do you give it to your little ones? Milk is a diary product so why not any other??

Thanks,

Amy n Amber (18 weeks)

Replies

• hey,

i'm totally confused too - I did give Louise petit fleurs before she was 6 months. i've noticed other baby foods/jars containing meat and gluten that say from 4-6 months too.

Sorry i've been no help, just wanted to say your not the only one!!
  • i used to give maya and justin the Damone baby Fromage Frais from 4 months.
    i have been keeping an eye out for them for when charlie is 4 months but cant find them
  • hi i'm not no help but i've seen them little yogurts out ere too and wondered if i can give them to wade.
    but wasn't sure that if he could have dairy yet his 5half months but i haven't really started weaning yet i gave him a little banana today which he liked. thought it might help his bowels at mo.
    but i'll keep my eye on ur thread to see what the other girls say.
    sorry no help
    gio x
  • I think it is very confusing when current health guidelines say you shouldn't start weaning until 6 months but products are marketed and labelled as being appropriate from 4 months. Personally I think if I have to start early because he's hungry then I would try and stick to plain rice/ porridge and perhaps a few veg but as there is asthma in our family I would try to avoid dairy until 6 months.
  • I gave Evan yogurts from 4 months as he doesnt take much milk and my HV advisd to get his calcium uptake, just see if there is any reaction over a couple of days if not then should be fine