Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

Child Care - so confused !

I'm hoping to return to work on a part time basis working 3 days a week, with hubby working shifts and me part time it would mean that we wouldnt always need child care on the same days/hours each week as hubby is on a 6 on 4 off rota so would be some weeks where we need lots of child care and some weeks we need none.

Anyone else have a child care situation like this and can recommend what the best type of child care would be ?

Replies

• hiya im a nursery nurse in a private day nursery and most nurseries i know of expect parents to pay even if the child isnt there. usually in nurseries parents need to commit to the days they want the child care for so staff ratios can be arranged. childminders are usually more flexible, but i would ring round nurseries and childminders and see what they can offer you
    louise 31+3
  • Have you thought about getting a nanny? They are a bit more expensive than a nursery or childminder, but are a lot more flexible, and the care they give is lovely.

Obviously it might be a bit tricky to find someone who is happy to fit round your work schedules - but I am sure there will be smebody suitable out there.

Good luck with it!
    Nx
  • Ooh - I meant to say that nannies can register to accept childcare vouchers, so may not be as pricey afterall. image
  • hi hun,

i'm in a similar position as my hubby is a chef so generally gets weekdays off, so he's going to have the baby on two of my three days in work. I think I'm going to commit to one day a week with a nursery, as I think my problem will be needing them more then not, and i'm hoping that some weeks I can put the baby in for 2 or 3 days if necessary with only a bit of notice.

I think in your situation you might find a childminder or nanny better.
  • Hi