Forum home Babies Baby

TEACHERS - can i pick your brains about job shares?!

Hi

I requested a 4 day job share last september which was refused! we are STILL in negotiations and i've been back to work full time for 3 weeks. i now want to work 3 days and my head wants me to do 2.5 days . have a meeting this friday about it so i really want to be organised.

do any of you do or know of anyone who does a 3 day jobshare in a primary school? if you do how does PPA, staff meetings, planning and handover happen????

thanks, marie

Replies

• Hey Marie,
    Well I'm a teacher at a Primary school and we have 3 job shares-hoping it will be 4 in March!
    One class (Yr1/2) have a teacher for Mon-Tues and then both teachers come to the staff meeting as you just miss so much if you don't.
    Then the other teacher teachers Wed-Fri. Now PPA is on a Fri for them but obviously teacher 1 misses out. So, and I'm nit sure this is allowed but they formulated the idea so, one Mon or Tue a month teacher2 comes in and covers for teacher 1 so she has a day for planning or what not.
    Now planning is tricky as they share it out between the 2 Yr1/2 classes. Not 100% sure about hand overs.
    Now the other one is at Yr4/5. Teacher 1 does Mon and Tues up untill 2:45 (weird I know!) she then has a bit of PPA. Teacher 2 arrives at lunchtime and has her PPA. They both normally stay for the staff meeting but I know hand over is really tricky there. Lots of emailling and phone calls etc. One teacher teaches all the Science so that's quite seperate (shame but it helps them) but they share planning with the other Yr4/5 class but obviously tweak to fit thier class.
    Anyway I was kinda hoping for part time too but I'm not hopeful as there are so many in my school already.
    Good luck and if I can anymore just drop me a post. xSorry a bit long!!
  • Hiya