Forum home Family life & relationships Childcare & work

Ive just told my boss im pregnat and they were horrible!!!

hi everyone

ive been ta my work for 15 weeks. I found out i was pregnat on sataurday and told my boss yesterday as havent seen her before to tell her.

I work in a shop and my job requires heavy lifting so wanted to tell her as soon as possible!!! Last week before i even found out i was pregnant my boss arranged for me to cover holidays in march and april so there fore i had no reason to think there was any problem!! when i told my boss the reaction i got was a dirty look and a good bye as i was buying stuff from the shop at the time!!! i didnt expect her to jump for joy but the least she could of mustered was a contratulations!!!! at that point i knew she was going to sack me.
i went into work today and my colleuge was very off with me (i only work in a small shop with 1 other person who has worked there for 9 years!!) i told her that morning that i hoped my boss didnt want to sack me but i knew my rights as a pregnant woman!!! later i saw a text on my collegues phone which was obviously about me stating that she was looking at a way to get around sacking me!!! i really dont know what to do and how im would prove ahe was discriminating againt me!!! any one had a similar situation!!!??

Replies

• hi hun - how small is your shop? do you have any kind of union? - have your holidays that she arranged you to cover in march and april do you have the completed rotas? ie to show that she had no need to get rid of you. Also I would keep a diary of everything that is said and done from now - in case you o need to take it further - give EAR a call they giv free legal advice x
  • Employment law is employment law hun where ever you work. You have lots of rights and they'd be very silly to get rid of you. They also would have to justify why. You need to put in writing you are pregnant so they can't deny knowing. What a horrible employer! xxx