Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

How to tell parents...

Hi All,

I'm 23 and have just found out I'm pregnant but I have only been with my boyfriend for four months (although feels like forever and we have discussed marriage and babies etc). I own my own home although I'm living with my parents temporarily (long story). My boyfriend will sell his place and move in with me. I have a job that I love which pays well and I have been doing for nearly five years which has great maternity benefits. The thing is, the baby was planned, we just didn't think I would get pregnant so quickly (it all came about after we had a scare a couple of months ago and realised how disappointed we were when the test was BFN). However, I feel like I have to tell people the baby was an accident as we haven't been together very long and I think people will judge us. I'm also scared my parents will say I'm too young but I don't feel it and have felt broody for a long time even before I met my boyfriend. What would you do in my situation? Should I tell my parents the baby is very much wanted? (both of us were ecstatic when we found out). I just want them to be as happy about it as we are, I'm scared they will be disappointed. Any advice much appreciated.

Thanks ladies!!

Replies

• im 23 too and I would definatley tell them it was planned hun rather than an accident, i know its hard as lots of parents are different but if you and your partner are happy, stable, and want this baby, then they should be happy for you too...but do remember a first it may come as a shock to them if you have only been with your partner 4 months so just try not to expect them to be jumping for joy straight away, they may need time for it to sink in too.

XxXxX