Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

when is everyone going on mat leave?

Hi im a teacher n im due 31st may...im hoping to get up to may half term which would be 22nd may which would make me 39wks....have i got my head in the clouds? this is my first baby n not sure how far tiredness etc will allow me to keep working. rather have more time off with baby rarher than sitting on my fat bum watching jeremy kyle alone at home before the birth!!

when is every1 else starting meternity leave?

Replies

• 3 weeks and counting!! i'll be 37 weeks and quite honestly would go now if i could!

how stressful / active is your job? I work in PR so generally just sit at a desk all day, but if you're having to bend down with the kids or lift them, then I'd probably advise to finish a bit earlier!
  • 3 weeks and counting!! i'll be 37 weeks and quite honestly would go now if i could!

how stressful / active is your job? I work in PR so generally just sit at a desk all day, but if you're having to bend down with the kids or lift them, then I'd probably advise to finish a bit earlier!
  • im going on maternity leave 2 weeks before my due date but i've managed to book 5 weeks holiday off before that (i only work saturdays) so i finish in 2 weeks! yay! xxx
  • my job is really tiring and quite stressful (i teach y6 and its SATs pressure time from now until middle of may!!) maybe i will have to go off earlier?
  • I'm finsihing next friday, will be 37 weeks. In all honesty I didn't realise how tired I'd get during these last few weeks. 39 weeks might be pushing it and you'll need sometime to yourself before the baby comes. I spoke to my mw and she recommends to finish at 34 weeks at changes will start to happen to your body preparing for birth.
  • I was going to leave at 38 weeks but am now hoping to go at 36! I'm already getting tired and achey and still have 9 more weeks until then!

Bec 26+6 x